Winners (23)

0 0 0 No comments

Announcing HGP Poetry Winners

Since 2015, Inlandia Institute has been bringing you the best in contemporary poetry from the national scene as well as highlighting local talent. This year marks the nine-year anniversary of the Hillary Gravendyk Prize, which awards two $1000 prizes annually.

Congratulations to the Hillary Gravendyk Poetry Prize Winners for 2023, Pain Survey by Jennifer MacKenzie(National Winner) and Law of the Letter by Elizabeth Galoozis (Regional Winner).

Jennifer MacKenzie’s book of poems My Not-My Soldier was published as part of Fence Books’ Modern Poets Series. MacKenzie’s poems have appeared in numerous journals, most recently Jubilat, Image, Prelude, and Conduit. She lives in the Bronx where she teaches at Lehman College, CUNY.

Elizabeth Galoozis’s poems have appeared in Air/Light, Pidgeonholes, RHINO, Witness, Sinister Wisdom, and elsewhere. She serves as a reader for The Maine Review and Abandon Journal, and has been nominated for a Pushcart Prize. She works as a librarian and lives in southern California. Elizabeth can be found on Twitter and Instagram at @thisamericanliz.

Full Finalists List

National 1st Runner Up: The Afterimagists by Brandon Krieg

Regional 1st Runner Up: Everything in Pulchritude by Christina Acosta Short

National 2nd Runner Up: Must Be Present to Win by Julie Marie Wade

Regional 2nd Runner Up: When the Leaves Come Tumbling Down by Diosa Xochiquetzalcoatl

Honorable Mention: Ensō Carousel by Partridge Boswell

Honorable Mention: Orphan’s Antonym by Jennifer Brown

Finalists (an * additionally denotes regional entry finalists)

A Broken Compass by Jane Medved

*A Heart is Meant to Be Broken by Siw Heede

Appointment with Worry by Claudia Reder

Art/i/facts by Heidi Seaborn

*Bad Gifts by Sherry Vernon

Brush Bristle Love by wm snyder

*Bud Light Blues by Martin Cossio

Counterclockwise by Saudamini Siegrist

Diminishing by Allison Nicole Blackley

Every Single Beast of My Heart by Pamela Wax

Everyone’s Going by George Northrup

Fiber by Dana Sonnenschein

Following the Snow Leopard by Barbara Wiedemann

From the Bitter Tree by Elaine Mintzer

*Gas Station Crucifix by Trucker Sushi

*Hair Net Halo by Dan Murphy

Mammoth Life & Accident by avra wing

Meet Me at Waterloo Station by Don Hole

New Kid on the Block by Mark Smith-Soto

Not Sadness but Something Else by Michael Levan

*Nothing to Do But Dance by Patricia L. Scruggs

*On the Journey to Peace by Isaiah Matthews

*Sentinels by Tim Perez

Steel Sides and Yellow Walls by Alicia Swain

Surfacing by Emily Tuszynska

The Glow in Our Spilling by Ximena Keogh Serrano

The Ether Dome by Katy Aisenberg

The Unholy Season by Micah Tasaka

Twisted Threads by Joyce Meyers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *