Black Lives Matter. Inlandia Institute stands against white supremacy and condemns police brutality and violence against all Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) communities everywhere. We memorialize here our core values of equity and representation and shall endeavor on all fronts to ensure that they are adhered to. Read our full statement here.

Inlandia is led by a talented and committed Board of Directors with input from an inclusive and diverse regional Advisory Council. The work of the organization is accomplished by a strong committee system of the board and advisory council and a small, dedicated group of staff and volunteers.

Board of Directors
John Bender, president/CEO
Nancy Melendez, vice president
David Rios, treasurer
John Welsh, secretary
Elio Palacios, Jr., immediate past president
Minerva Canto
Lisa Henry
Juanita E. Mantz
Patricia Smith-Hunt
Chuck Wilson

Frances J. Vasquez, board member emeritus
Ellen Estilai, board member emeritus
Larry Burns, board member emeritus
Jeff Kraus, board member emeritus

Marion Mitchell Wilson, in memoriam, founder/board member emerita

Cati Porter, executive director
Kimi Palacios, administrative and office assistant
Janine Pourroy Gamblin, programs coordinator and marketing assistant
Andrea Decker, Riverside Women Creating Change program
Mike Sleboda, programs assistant
Christian Monroy, Inlandia Literary Journeys newspaper column coordinator
Victoria Waddle, Inlandia: A Literary Journey online journal managing editor

Winter/Spring 2021 Interns
Jonathan Medina
Madeleine Simmons
Katherinne Reinoza-Zaldana

Workshop Leaders
Andrea Fingerson, Corona
Stephanie Barbe Hammer, Poet-try Online
Tim Hatch, Ontario
Carlos Cortes, Riverside
James Ducat, Redlands
Renee Gurley, Boot Camp for Writers online
Mae Wagner, Redlands at the Joslyn Senior Center
Romaine Washington, San Bernardino
Frances J. Vasquez, Tesoros de Cuentos at Casa Blanca
Lydia Theon Ware i, Cartless workshops for our neighbors experiencing homelessness

Black Voices Steering Committee
Alex Avila
CelenaDiana Bumpus
Nikia Chaney
Ginger Galloway
Dr. Natalie Graham
Lisa Henry
Keenan Norris
Lydia Theon Ware i
Romaine Washington

Advisory Council

Maureen Alsop
Kristine Anderson
Erika Aragon
Judith Auth
Sheila Bergman
Alaina Bixon
Jane Block
Lavina Blossom
Karen Bradford
Gayle Brandeis
CelenaDiana Bumpus
Alben Chamberlain
Nikia Chaney
Jose Chavez
Alejandro Cisneros
Deenaz Coachbuilder
Carlos E. Cortés
Julianna Cruz
Charlotte Davidson
Juan Delgado
Lisa Diggs
Myra Dutton
Andrea Fingerson
Mark Givens
liz gonzalez
Natalie Graham
Tim Green
Catherine Gudis
Renee Gurley
Lindsey Hammel
Theresa Hanley
Dawn Hassett
Maggie Hawkins
Jorge Heredia
Juan Felipe Herrera
Tanya Humphrey
Ai Kelley
Sant Khalsa
Karen Rae Kraut
Judy Kronenfeld
Sharron Lewis
Robin Longfield
Monrow Mabon
Gloria Macias-Harrison
Robert Merrill
Douglas McCulloh
Rose Monge
Luz Negron
Ruth Nolan
Cindi Neisinger
Keenan Norris
Rebecca K. O’Connor
Julie Paegle
Connie Ransom
Teresa Rhyne
Nicolette Rohr
Diana Ruiz
Jo Scott-Coe
Terria Smith
Susan Straight
Chad Sweeney
Stevie Taken
Frances J. Vasquez
Victoria Waddle
Mae Marinello Wagner
Jean Waggoner
Lydia Theon Ware i
Romaine Washington
Dr. Deborah Wong
Linda Adams Yeh
Janice Young

[Updated February 2021]