Recent Winners

Past Hillary Gravendyk Prize Winners, top row, l-r: Kenji C. Liu (Map of an Onion, 2015), Angela Peñaredondo (All Things Lost Thousands of Times, 2015), Marco Maisto (Traces of a Fifth Column, 2016), Rachelle Cruz (God’s Will for Monsters, 2016), Malcolm Friend (Our Bruises Kept Singing Purple, 2017); second row, l-r: Michelle Peñaloza (Former Possessions of the Spanish Empire, 2018), Elizabeth Cantwell (All the Emergency-Type Structures, 2018), Adam Martinez (Remyth: A Postmodernist Ritual, 2019), Bronwen Tate (The Silk the Moths Ignore, 2019), Michael Samra (among the enemies, 2020); third row, l-r: Jonathan Maule (This Side of the Fire, 2020), Angelica Maria Barraza (How to Know You’re Dreaming When You’re Dreaming, Lesson One, 2021), Alexandra Martinez (Our Lady of Perpetual Desert, 2021), Tiffany Elliott (Bones Awaiting the Blaze, 2022), Will Barnes (The Artemisia, 2022)

Past judges: Maureen Alsop, Cynthia Arrieu-King, Stacie Callies, Megan Gravendyk Estrella, Jessica Fisher, Charles Legere, rob mclennan, Margaret Ronda, Chad Sweeney, Valerie Wallace.

To purchase, visit the Inlandia Books Bookshop. For desk copies or information about direct from the publisher sales, write to The Hillary Gravendyk Prize is an annual open book competition with two prizes, one national and one regional, each with its own $1000 award.